Association of Washinton Cities Risk Management Service Agency

Annual Meeting Minutes
Tuesday, October 11, 2022
Campbell's Resort
Chelan, WA
7pm

Present:

Board of Directors:

President & Position 7 - Julie Struck, Mayor, South Bend Vice President & Position 4 – Jose Trevino, Mayor, Granger Position 1 – Dee Roberts, Mayor, Raymond

Position 3 - Leanne Guier, Mayor, Pacific

Position 5 – Stefany Smith Mayor, Springdale

Position 6 – Micki Harnois, Councilmember, Rockford

Operating Committee:

Chair & Position 1 - Dawn Masko, Finance Director, Pacific

Position 3 - Dave Vorse, Public Works Director, Castle Rock

Position 4 - Tanya Dashiell, Assistant City Clerk-Treasurer, Airway Heights

Position 5 – Raena Hallam, City Clerk/Treasurer, Kettle Falls

Position 6 - Karen Bennett, HR Manager, Yelm

Position 7 - Brandy Wallace, City Clerk/Treasurer, Kettle Falls

Position 8 - Brenda Martinez, City Clerk/HR Manager, Black Diamond

Staff Present:

Deanna Dawson, Chief Executive Officer
Gene Emmans, Chief Financial Officer
Carol Wilmes, Director, Member Pooling Programs Director
Carol Rehnberg, Program Director
Ashley Jones, Claims and Pre-Litigation Manager
Anthony Vasquez, Claims Coordinator
Andrea Luper, Membership Supervisor
Kim Dennis, Risk Management Coordinator

Guests:

Josh Kilka, Procurement and Contracting Consultant, MRSC

1. Call to Order

1.1 Call to Order and Presidents Welcome

Risk Management Service Agency (RMSA) Board President Julie Struck called the meeting to order at 7:00 pm, welcomed the membership and thanked the AWC RMSA Board of Directors and Operating Committee for their service.

President Struck introduced AWC's Chief Executive Officer Deanna Dawson and Director of Member Pooling Programs Carol Wilmes.

1.2 Welcome from the Association of Washington Cities

Ms. Dawson welcomed the membership to the Annual Meeting and preceding Member Expo.

Ms. Dawson introduced AWC's Director of Member Pooling Programs, Carol Wilmes.

1.3 Welcome from the Director

Ms. Wilmes provided an overview of the AWC RMSA Program and introduced staff members. A special recognition was made acknowledging Bruce Albert, Councilmember from the Town of Index, for his years of service to the RMSA Board.

Ms. Wilmes introduced AWC RMSA's Program Director, Carol Rehnberg.

Ms. Rehnberg welcomed and thanked RMSA vendors and AWC RMSA's General Counsel, Charles H. "Skip" Houser III.

Ms. Rehnberg introduced guest speaker, Josh Kilka, Procurement and Contracting Consultant with MRSC, to share his guidance on the topic of procurement.

2. Guest Speaker

2.1 Procurement and Contracting

Mr. Kilka spoke briefly about procurement within local government.

3. Business

3.1 State of the Pool

Ms. Rehnberg gave a brief overview of the AWC RMSA's coverages, financial status, claims status, loss prevention programs and member services 2022 accomplishments, and anticipated initiatives for 2023.

4. Other Business

4.1 Operating Committee Elections

Ms. Rehnberg gave an overview of the Operating Committee elections process and introduced the 2022 Operating Committee candidates. Ms. Rehnberg noted that this year's elections are being held for the Committee's odd-numbered positions and those who are elected will serve a two-year term on the Committee. In August and September, members were requested to submit nominations for the five open positions.

The following candidates were on the ballot for the open positions:

Position 1 – Dawn Masko, Finance Director, Pacific

Position 3 – David Vorse, Public Works Director, Castle Rock

Position 5 – Raena Hallam, Clerk-Treasurer, Kettle Falls

Position 7 – Brandy Wallace, City Clerk, Port Orchard

Position 9 – Jord Wilson, City Administrator, Pateros

All positions are incumbents, either elected in 2020, or appointed to fill vacant spots in the interim.

President Struck asked for a motion from the floor to elect the slate of candidates to the RMSA Operating Committee.

Motion:

A motion was made from the floor to elect the slate of candidates, motion was seconded from the floor, motion carried.

4.2 2022 Award Recipients

Ms. Rehnberg explained the awards criteria to the membership, noting this year's awards focus on improvements in members' liability loss experience.

Ms. Rehnberg presented awards for the following categories: Loss Control Champion award to members with an experience modification of under .75, and Loss Control Recognition for the most improved experience modification number by members population group.

Ms. Rehnberg congratulated the 2022 RMSA award recipients.

4.3 2023 AWC RMSA Annual Meeting location

President Struck announced the 2023 AWC RMSA Annual Meeting would take place on October 17 in Kennewick in conjunction with AWC Member Expo October 18 -19.

5. Adjournment

5.1 Adjourn

President Struck adjourned the meeting at 8:00 pm.

The foregoing minutes were approved by the RSMA Board of Directors on	12/8/2022
Docusigned by: Julie Struk 160A89A94BE4488	Date
President ATTEST:	
Butsy Hildreth 1380951468804E9 Recording Secretary	