About us

Published on Jul 29, 2019

Association of Washington Cities announces recently elected officers and directors

Contact: Emma Shepard

OLYMPIA – The Association of Washington Cities (AWC) announced officials from Washington’s cities that were recently elected new officers and directors to the AWC Board of Directors. AWC held board elections at the association’s Annual Business Meeting on June 27 in Spokane.

In addition to officers, all odd-numbered district positions on the board were up for election.

AWC officers for 2019-2020 are:

  • President: Ed Stern, Councilmember, Poulsbo
  • Vice President: Soo Ing-Moody, Mayor, Twisp
  • Secretary: Kent Keel, Mayor, University Place (also At-Large #1 - Western)
  • Immediate Past President: Don Britain, Mayor, Kennewick
  • Past President: Pat Johnson, Mayor, Buckley
  • Large City Representative: Candace Mumm, Councilmember, Spokane (also District 9)

New or reelected directors are:

  • District 1: Micki Harnois, Councilmember, Rockford
  • District 3: Cindy Gagne, Mayor, Omak*
  • District 5: Ron Onslow, Councilmember, Ridgefield
  • District 7: Wendy Weiker, Councilmember, Mercer Island*
  • District 9: Candace Mumm, Councilmember, Spokane
  • District 11: Sally Bagshaw and Teresa Mosqueda, Councilmembers, Seattle
  • District 13: Robert Back, Councilmember, Des Moines*
  • At-Large #1: Kent Keel, Mayor, University Place
  • At-Large #3: Linda Thompson, Councilmember, Spokane Valley*

* Denotes newly elected director

“It is an honor to serve our 281 cities and towns as AWC President,” said Ed Stern. “Washington’s cities are unique and diverse, and we know we’re more effective at the state and federal level when we speak with a unified voice. We’ve hit the ground running with a new strategic plan and I’m excited to see what the year ahead brings for cities.”

The AWC Board of Directors is the association’s governing body. The board is comprised of 25 directors, 23 of whom are elected officials (mayors or councilmembers) from Washington cities, and two non-elected city officials who also serve as the president and past president of the Washington City/County Management Association.

AWC serves its members through advocacy, education, and services. Founded in 1933, AWC is a private, nonprofit, nonpartisan corporation that represents Washington's cities and towns before the state legislature, the state executive branch, and with regulatory agencies. Membership is voluntary. However, AWC consistently maintains 100 percent participation from Washington’s 281 cities and towns.

AWC also provides training, data and publications, and programs such as the AWC Employee Benefit Trust, AWC Risk Management Service Agency, AWC Workers’ Comp Retro, AWC Drug and Alcohol Consortium, and AWC GIS Consortium.

A complete list of AWC Board of Directors is available on the association’s website.


Media contact:
Emma Shepard
Communications Coordinator
Association of Washington Cities
(360) 753-4137

  • Media releases
Copyright © 2018-2020 Association of Washington Cities